morsr.blogg.se

Doom death from above
Doom death from above











doom death from above

I used to joke that the lecture circuit had turned me into an “international man of history.” I realized only later that I might have been one of the “superspreaders” whose hyperactive travel schedules were spreading the virus from Asia to the rest of the world. You may wonder what kind of life that was.

doom death from above

In the course of February, I flew almost as frequently, though not so far: to New York, Sun Valley, Bozeman, Washington and Lyford Cay in the Bahamas.

doom death from above

I wore a mask once or twice but found it intolerable after an hour and took it off. In January, I flew from London to Dallas, from Dallas to San Francisco, and from there to Hong Kong (Jan. I was traveling manically in January and February, as I had done for most of the previous 20 years. Is there hope for the family after the pandemic? Or will the battle of the sexes rage on? The river is round Looking back, I read those sentences as a veiled confession. to resist that strange fatalism that leads most of us not to cancel our travel plans and not to wear uncomfortable masks, even when a dangerous virus is spreading exponentially.” 2, I wrote, “We are now dealing with an epidemic in the world’s most populous country, which has a significant chance of becoming a global pandemic. The conventional wisdom at that time, from Fox News to The Washington Post, was that the coronavirus posed a lesser threat to Americans than the usual winter wave of influenza. 26, 2020, I was regarded as eccentric (certainly by the majority of the delegates at the World Economic Forum in Davos, who seemed oblivious to the danger).

doom death from above

When I first spoke and wrote publicly about the rising probability of a global pandemic, in the week ending Jan. Never in our lifetimes, it seems, has there been greater uncertainty about the future - and greater ignorance of the past.Īt the beginning of 2020, very few people grasped the significance of the news coming out of Wuhan about a new coronavirus.













Doom death from above